

## Alumni Association Board Meeting

October 22011

Attendance: Dr. Linda Casser, Dr. Robert Duszak, Dr. Anthony Fiorelli, Dr. Shereen Hakki, Dr. Michael Katz, Dr. Thomas Landry,

'05 has been appointed Interim Director, Electives and Advanced StudieErin Draper '09 has been chosen for a two year position as Hafter Fellow in Nephrthalmic Disease. Sara Shkalim '10 has joined the faculty as an instructor in the Feinbloom Center. Dr. John Baker '84 has joined the University as Associate DeaDQPScholars Program.

Dr. Casser commented on the PCO Scholars Program. The College is not changing its core program – rather the Scholars Program is an addition program which will addited dents in the first year. This program is not for everyone and only students meeting specific criteria will be considered for admission. The perception that "PCO is going to a three year program" is not accurate and it will take time and perseverance to make sure that everyone has good information.

Dr. Landry gavelte Awards Committee report. He provided a listing of all the awards given by the Alumni Association well as listings of the recipients of the awards over the years.

On September 21 an email was sent out to optometry alumni who have email addresses that included a description of the Alumni Association awards and a link to a form through which nominations could be made. A number of nominations have been received, and all are due by October 21. The Alumni Office staff will collect information on the noreinend distribute this information to the Awards Committee so that selections can be made.

Historically the Albert Fitch Memorial Alumnus of the Year Award has been given out at the alumni reunion in May. Most of the other awards have also been given out at that time although some of them have been given out at other events, for example, at the graduation of an international program class in Israel.

The bylaws of the Alumni Association allow for one Alumnus of the Year Award to be given in eac6( pr\* [(eac6-2(he)4( di)-2(s)-1)2(w)-8(a)4(h-2(he)4( A)2j EMC /Phe)4( di.46nd di)-2u )]TJ 0.002(n )